Special Session Call for Papers


Special Session


Machine Learning in Energy Applications

13-15 Dec. 2009, Miami, Florida, USA




Energy is still one of the most important issues in the World under its various aspects: production and renewability, transport and distribution, management and quality.  The recent researches and developments in the production of energy have been focused on alternating and renewable sources as the fossil energy sources are reducing day by day. Therefore power system efficiency, power quality, renewable generation, growing number of interconnections, power exchanges among utilities, need for improvements in the power system planning, operation and control have been very significant topics for the researchers. At the same time, the power equipment industry faces new challenges in nowadays ever-increasing competition. Pattern recognition, expert systems, artificial neural networks, fuzzy systems, evolutionary programming, and other artificial intelligence methods can significantly contribute in the solution of the related problems mentioned.


Advances in Machine Learning (ML) and recent web-based and mobile technologies provide new challenges in machine learning for energy applications. 


This session aims to provide a platform to present and discuss recent advancements on machine learning methods in energy applications.




Papers are sought on a range of topics that include, but are not limited to:

  • alternating energy sources
  • renewable energy sources
  • energy production
  • fault diagnosis, quality and maintenance in energy systems
  • distribution networks for power systems
  • parallel operations and interconnectivity of the power systems
  • hybrid power systems
  • energy efficiency and smart power saving solutions
  • energy conscious and intelligent power management
  •  security issues involving ML methods in energy applications
  • computational methods
  • architectures and algorithms involving ML methods
  • web-based  applications using ML methods in education and training




Paper Submission Deadline:                                     August 1, 2009
Notification of acceptance:                                     September 7, 2009
Camera-ready papers & Pre-registration:                   October 1, 2009
The ICMLA Conference:                                          December 13-15, 2009


The special session will be held as a part of the ICMLA’09 conference. The authors would submit papers through the main conference submission website. Papers must correspond to the requirements detailed in the instructions to authors. Accepted papers must be presented by one of the authors to be published in the conference proceeding. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to direct your questions to Dr. Ilhami Colak (icolak@gazi.edu.tr).

All paper submissions will be handled electronically. Detailed instructions for submitting the papers are provided on the conference home page at 




Special Session Organizer:

    o Dr. Ilhami Colak (icolak@gazi.edu.tr).


Special Session Co-Organizers:

    o Dr. Gerald Schaefer  (G.Schaefer@aston.ac.uk).

    o Dr. Ramazan Bayindir (bayindir@gazi.edu.tr).


Program Committee Members:

    o Dr. Miguel A. Sanz-Bobi, Institute for Research in Technology, Spain

    o Dr. Ian Nabney, Aston University,  UK

    o Dr. Dervis Karaboga, Erciyes University, Turkey

    o Dr. David Lowe, Aston University, UK 

    o Dr. Fujio Kurokawa, Nagasaki University, Japan.

    o Dr. Erdal Irmak, Gazi University, Turkey

    o Dr. Constantin N. Pavlitov, Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria

    o Dr. Seref Sagiroglu, Gazi University, Turkey

    o Dr. Silviu Ionita, University of Pitesti, Romania

    o Dr. Bakhyt Matkarimov, Kazakh-British Technical University, Kazakhstan                   

    o Dr. Juan Ignacio Arribas, University of  Valladolid, Spain

    o Dr. Jaime GÓmez, University of  Valladolid, Spain

    o Dr. Jorge Guillermo CalderÓn, Electric Research Enstitute, Mexico

    o Dr. João Martins, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

    o Dr. Vitor Pires, Polytechnic Institute of Setúbal, Portugal

    o Dr. B. Kalyan Kumar, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India